This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If there’s a birthday, then of course there must be cake!!  At least that’s how it goes at our house!!  We celebrated our boy’s birthday tonight with a cookie cake and ice cream.  Dragonfly and Ladybug didn’t need much convincing to sing “Happy Birthday” and Dragonfly was more than honored to be chosen to blow out the candles.  She did ask me to please save the rest of the cake until we go to China….. uummmm, I don’t think so. 

I will admit that today was much harder than I thought it was going to be.  As the day went on, I felt so much sadness at the thought of not having our son here with us on his special day.  He has had four birthdays now without a forever family.  That just isn’t fair.  And even though he has a new family, we couldn’t be with him.

